The Association of East Asian Research Universities (AEARU) Summer Institute for Extended Flipped Education


Program Features

  • Instructed by world-leading professors
  • Self-paced online learning at your home university using the HKMOOC platform
  • One-week credited class at HKUST, the miracle university by the sea

Exclusively for Students from AEARU Member Universities

  • Scholarship for well-performed AEARU students. There will be 12 quota with 5000 HKD each.

Member of AEARU

The Association of East Asian Research Universities (AEARU) is a consortium of 19 of the most distinguished research universities in China, including Hong Kong and Taiwan, Japan, and Korea. See for the member university list.

Courses offered in Summer 2018/19

HUMA 4000M: Modern Japanese Architect (1 credit)

Instructor: Professor David Butler Stewart
Specially Appointed Professor of School of Engineering, Tokyo Institute of Technology

HUMA 4000N: Social Inequality in China, 1700-2000, in Comparative Perspective (1 credit)

Instructor: Professor James Lee
Chair Professor of Humanities and Social Science , HKUST

COMP 1029J: Java Programming Bridging Course (1 credit)

Instructor: Professor Ting Chuen Pong
Acting Provost, Director of Center for Engineering Education Innovation, HKUST

Course Schedule and Location


Students from AEARU universities:
1000HKD registration fee. We will provide free HKUST Tuition and Housing for all AEARU Registered Students.

Students from non-AEARU universities:
3500 HKD tuition fee covering compulsory travel insurance and visa processing / shipping fee.

Contact Us

Technical Support

Tel: +852-2358-8778
Fax: +852-2358-1477

Administrative Support

Tel: +852-2358-6032